Things I HATE about Windows Phone

We all know that there are so many things to LOVE about Windows Phone, and everyone is talking about them all over everywhere. So I was thinking why not talk about the things I HATE about Windows Phone being a huge Windows Phone as my self. Now I know what you are thinking, if I am such a huge fan, how could I have any reasons to hate it, very well just FYI, I always keep an open mind despite whatever my likes and dislikes are😉 !
Now I must say these are based on my personal Experience with my Lumia 820 and Windows Phone 8 Version.🙂

The keyboard

I have been an Android user for about two years back, and I have been pretty much of a heavy “texter” using the touch keyboard. With that Sony Android Keyboard experience here is my feelings with my new experience with the Windows Phone Keyboard.

Word Suggestions are so damn slow. The word suggestions are so damn slow, as in even to get a bloody word suggestion we have to type more than 50% of the letters of the particular word. SIGH !

No Automated Learning of the new words typed by the user. And if we wanna make the keyboard learn a new word, we have to manually add that by double tapping on the word while in the middle of typing. Which is extremely retarded. OMG Seriously dude ?

No proper intelligence of the Keyboard or Auto Suggestions or User keywords learning. In simple words, for me, Windows Phone keyboard is SO FUCKING DUMB ! I mean serious WTF is this shit, Microsoft could have done so much better than this seriously for a bloody keyboard. Not even a bit of intelligence, the auto suggestions suck balls, and its so bloody slow and dumb compared to Android, which is much faster and amazingly intelligent.

The Lock Screen

Yeah it sucks big time. At least Android has some pretty dotted line pattern connecting mechanism for their lock screen, and for gods sake anyone could customize it the way they want and make so epic. Alright lets keep that aside, Look at the lock screen of the
Windows Phone, its the same boring crap all over again, the number code.

At the beginning there were some rumours about an introducing of a touch pattern for the lock screen of a windows phone, and people expected a much better or a unique on Windows Phone 8 release, but still nothing ! OMG that is so sad. I am literally fed up of the bloody boring crappy lock screen I’m not using any lock screen anymore on my Windows Phone. Microsoft, you better work on this for gods sake !

Web Browser

Oki when it comes to a mobile Web browser plays a very significant role, because that is like the general gateway to access the internet despite of the Apps. Oh really ? Yeah everyone knows that ! but does Microsoft know that ? or the Windows Phone team ? :O

Serious the default web browser in Windows Phone is the worst browsing experience I ever had since my very old Nokia phone web browser.

Yeah !  the default web browser is a total shiaaat !  Hope most of you have experience with the crappy browser of Windows Phone. Most of the sites with modern OPEN GL, HTML 5, JQuery does not work properly, well most of the time does not work at all with this crappy browser. And it is such a pain in the a**. All those stunning and cool web graphics can even be opened in the Windows Phone web browser.

There is completely no way to replace the Default Web browser in Windows Phone.  Alright it is fine that Windows Phone team at Microsoft has failed to build a better browser for Windows Phone, but they haven’t even given any space for the User to replace their crappy browser with a better one, if there are any better web browsers for Windows Phone. Withe their bullshit restricted system permissions, this isn’t even close to being possible. Everyone is stuck with their default shiiiiiiiat ! -____-

Popular Apps suck ! except for Some !

Have you used Facebook app on Android ? or iPhone ? aaaaaand then have you ever used the Facebook app for Windows Phone ?😛 I know right ! OMG the official App for Windows Phone sucks big time, literally. I mean there is very less options, features and graphics. And the app crashes constantly out of nowhere.

We all have amazing experiences  with those most popular apps on Android and iPhone, such as Facebook, twitter, instagram and so on. Well after a while those apps also came into Windows Phone marketplace and everyone was so excited. But turned out to be a total disappointing experience.  I have used the Android app for Facebook, I mean I loved it, it had all the features , beautiful and easy to use User Interface all of that. But then when I used the Facebook app for Windows Phone, OMG ! It was a huuuuuuuge mess !

I think this is because of the restricted nature of the Windows Phone app development platform. Considering the fact that Android and iOS app development platforms has given almost all the access for the Mobile device’s hardware and software features from the SDK but when it comes to Windows Phone it is very restricted. So the developers can’t, well actually pretty much hard to recreate the same great experiences we had on those same apps on Android and iOS.🙂 Now that is a huge drawback for Windows Phone. I think it would have been better like, if they had discussed and given some more special access to those companies through the SDK to develop rich experienced applications.

But this situation is actually getting better, I recently used the Faceboo Beta app for Windows Phone, turned out to be so much better than the official one in the Store. And also same with Twitter and Instagram. But there are so many popular apps out there in other platforms who are struggling to provide the same fantastic experience for their users on Windows Phone, due to the strictness in the Windows Phone Development Platform.

No Seek Bar on Media Players

This may have not been a huge issue for everyone, but there is no go damn Seek bar in the Music player and the default Video Player in Windows Phone. I mean THE SEEK bar is like a very  basic requirement in any Media Player app, but unfortunately Windows Phone !😦 Sigh. Which is a huge disadvantage specially watching movies.

Bing Maps is a useless mess in Sri Lanka

Yeah to be frank, Bing Maps is a total shitty Joke in Sri Lanka. If you are a Windows Phone user from Sri Lanka you may know what a pain in the a** it is to use Bing Maps in Sri Lanka. I mean most of the Roads, Shops, and Places can not be found on Bing Maps in Sri Lanka, I mean even for any emergency the Bing Map search returns nothing at all. It is an utter waste to even try to use Bing maps in Sri Lanka, even though somewhat the roads are a bit accurate.

Not only bing maps, their series of Places, Location and Direction based apps are not working at all in Sri Lanka for the most part such as City Lens, HERE Drive and so on. This is a huge mess, I mean even if you try to find a place bear by to Eat, it is merely impossible only one or two places will be shown out of ten, even though for the most part it shows nothing at all. I sometimes wonder whether this is because Sri Lanka is a third world country and they don’t give a rats a** about third world countries ?😛
As a past Android user I must say, Google Maps shows almost everything with 100% accuracy, finding any place or location or even roads. Personally for me this was a huge disappointment as a user who uses Maps to navigate all the time.

The map can not be rotated as the User wish, only Zoom in and Zoom out options are available. Seriously ? I mean WTF ? When it comes to even a paper map we always rotate it this side and that side when we are trying to navigate. But in Bing Maps ? NO ROTATING ! Sigh😦 ! Hopefully I wish they would look into these issues in Windows 8.1 update.🙂

So that is it for now… as a Fan Boy thoughts on Windows Phone. You might say why such hatred if you call your self a Windows Phone Fan boy ?😛 Well human, I always keep my mind open doesn’t matter whatever I love and I like to see everything as they truly are in every aspect.😉


2 thoughts on “Things I HATE about Windows Phone

  1. Every issue that you have claimed to hate in this article is being fixed in Windows Phone 8.1 update. Either wait a few weeks for the update or update to the Developer Preview now. Either way, when you get the WP8.1 update, revisit this article. 🙂

Leave a Reply

